Thursday, May 30, 2013

Old Mutual Trophy Wine Awards lunch at the Mount Nelson

Juli Huisamen, Cathy Marston and Kalinka Lombard, together with lots of winemakers at the start of the Awards lunch
A gentle piano, award nominated Method Cap Classique bubbly to drink and lots of chat and conjecture as to what the day will bring
Michael Fridjhon tells us briefly about this years awards
Followed by David O'Brien of Old Mutual, the main sponsor of the event
A line-up of some of the entered wines for us to taste with our lunch
Organiser par excellence of the events, Outsorceress Janice Fridjhon
David O'Brien of Old Mutual gives his opening speech
Our starter of excellent quality home-smoked Salmon and dill gravadlax with herbs, sweetcorn and cauliflower relish
The long line of trophies and behind them the certificates ready to be awarded.
Main course was beef sirloin in a mushroom and tongue jus, with just blanched carrots, an excellent Jerusalem artichoke puree and a pave of finely sliced potatoes and slow cooked beef cheeks
Alex Mason Gordon and Taryn Thomas, two more of the excellent organisers whose attention to detail is so superb.
Michael Fridjhon with Mrs Anthea Eedes presenting the Harold Eedes Trophy for the best Chenin Blanc.  It went to Rijk's
Paul Cluver Junior, winner of many Trophies presenting this year’s Riesling trophy...
... to Sjaak Nelson of Jordan, who won several awards this year, for their museum class entry
David O'Brien of Old Mutual seeing who won the Trophy he is about to present
Michael ?? of Riedel Glass presenting that special trophy to Thys Louw of Diemersdal  for the best Bordeaux style Blend., their 2010.
Dessert is a melange of chocolate flavours and textures with a good ice cream, a macaroon and crisp crumbs
A pensive Christian Eedes
The winner of the ultimate trophy, the Fairbairn trophy for the most successful producer went to José Condé of Stark Condé, who also won the trophy for the Best Shiraz and the American Express for the best Cabernet Sauvignon
Erika Obermeyer, winemaker from Graham Beck with Journalist Melvin Minnaar. Erika won a Gold Medal for The Bowed Head Sauvignon Blanc.
Sjaak Nelson and Gary Jordan of Jordan wines delighted with their three trophies: Best wooded blend for the Outlier; The Riesling trophy and Museum Class overall for the 2009 Riesling
David Biggs with Gail Alswang
Photographer Sean Benjamin lines up all the winners for the official photograph
All the proud Trophy winners
Mr Fridjohn, after a job well done
Gold Medal winner Alan Mullins who won with Johan Meyer for Woolworths Sur Lie Chenin Blanc. Alan is tasting some of the many wines we had available for lunch.
© John & Lynne Ford, Adamastor & Bacchus 2013

No comments: